Be honest with yourself…

One habit I have tried very had to overcome would be how often I would make excuses.

There is ALWAYS a reason to not do something. Even if it is something small like it MIGHT be weather later in the day.

Over the years, every decision I make I think thoroughly about why I do not want to do anything. Then I analyze it further. Why does this make me not want to do it? I have found that when I ask myself that question, I rarely have a response.

But that first step is, to be HONEST WITH YOURSELF!

Ask yourself, “Am I just making excuses or do I honestly not want to take part in this?” It is okay to not be interested in an activity. I have observed in myself and others that when we openly admit to ourselves and each other that we do not want to do something, there is this odd weight lifted off of our shoulders. We don’t agonize over if others think we are lazy or if we believe we are.

However, this does not mean to say no to everything. It’s important to know the difference between what we WANT to do and what we NEED to do. Sometimes there will be an activity or a moment, where you just know that this choice could have an impact on your life.

Those are the moments to STOP making excuses. Like going to College. “I don’t have a computer right now.” or “I don’t have internet.” to try online colleges. Guess what? There are now colleges that have APPs for phones. Take a trip to the library or sit in a McDonalds or Starbucks.

Then in terms of jobs. Some people will not accept a job that they deem “Below” them. I would rather have a job I do not like until I can find one I do like. I would rather be making some money, than no money.

Do not be that person who is constantly complaining about how hard your life is. More often than not, we create our own problems.

BE HONEST WITH YOURSELF!

Look at your life and where it is. Are you making yourself too involved in other people’s lives? There is such a thing as helping people too much, especially when it affects your own life. It is okay to help others, just make sure you take care of yourself. And be honest with yourself if you are the cause of your own stress.

There is always a reason not to do something. Don’t spend your life making excuses. You could be missing out on some great opportunities and people.

You could end up with the life you complain about not having…

Leave a Reply

